Friday, 2 June 2017

CAUGHT LIVE [5]: STAND UP & ROCK! @ WOLVERHAMPTON 01/06/17

Yours Truly KJS took a second look at the 2017 version of Stand Up & Rock! alongside my good friend (and leading light in elobf recommended The 286) Spencer Hannabuss as Jasper Carrott and Bev Bevan rock and rolled into Wolverhampton's iconic Grand Theatre last night (Thursday 1st June).

Whereas the songs were the same as per the show in Telford (see elobf review here), a full house and a polished performance both by legendary comedian Jasper Carrott and best pal Bev Bevan with his most excellent musical troupe ensured another hugely entertaining night of laughter and some superb renditions of classics largely from the Sixties and Seventies. Stand Up & Rock! is truly a show that you can watch again and again yet still leave with a smile on your face after having a great time - even if your 6' 4" frames cannot squeeze into somewhat limited legroom! Needless to say, there's plenty in this show to please fans of ELO and The Beatles.
It was also great to see Spencer meet one of his musical heroes in Bev Bevan after the show whereupon you can be assured that Bev was more than adequately congratulated re: his recent RRHOF award (once again, many thanx to Musical Director Tony Kelsey). There are still plenty of Stand Up & Rock! shows for you to consider going to see during the remainder of 2017 thus:

Malvern Forum Theatre (Wednesday 21st to Friday 23rd June)
Shrewsbury Theatre Severn (Monday 26th to Wednesday 28th June)
Cheshire Gawsworth Hall (Friday 21st July)
Torquay Princess Theatre (Sunday 23rd July)
Weston-super-Mare Playhouse Theatre (Monday 24th to Tuesday 25th July)
Leicestershire Kilworth House (Thursday 27th to Friday 28th July)
Great Yarmouth Britannia Pier Theatre (Saturday 29th July)
Norwich Holt Festival (Sunday 30th July)
Shanklin Theatre (Sunday 24th September)
Chesterfield Winding Wheel (Friday 29th September)
High Wycombe Swan Theatre (Sunday 1st October)
Lichfield Garrick Theatre (Wednesday 4th to Saturday 7th October)
Weymouth Pavilion Theatre (Wednesday 11th October)
Poole Lighthouse Theatre (Thursday 12th October)
King's Lynn Corn Exchange (Tuesday 17th October)
Peterborough East of England Arena (Friday 20th October)
Chatham Brook & Central Theatre (Sunday 22nd October)
Basingstoke Anvil Theatre (Wednesday 25th October)
Buxton Opera House (Wednesday 8th November)
Llandudno Theatre Cymru (Thursday 9th November)
Aylesbury Waterside Theatre (Tuesday 14th November)
Guildford G Live Theatre (Friday 17th November)
Northampton Royal & Derngate Theatre (Wednesday 22nd November)
Clacton Princess Theatre (Tuesday 28th November)
Southend Cliffs Pavilion (Wednesday 29th November)
St. Albans Arena (Friday 1st December)
Southampton Mayflower Theatre (Sunday 3rd December)
Stratford Arts House (Wednesday 6th to 8th December)

elobeatlesforever (elobf) usually include a set list within our gig reviews but on this occasion we've decided to keep you in suspense to encourage you to go see the show (where it's not already sold out) so as to not spoil the theatrical pleasure of later attendees.  Stand Up & Rock! in 2017 featured Jasper Carrott, Bev BevanPhil Tree, Tony Kelsey, Abby Brant, Geoff Turton and Suzi Woo. Find out more about Stand Up & Rock! via these links thus:


elobeatlesforever (elobf) recommends Stand Up & Rock! to those enlightened folks who enjoy the music of ELO, Jeff Lynne, Roy Wood, The Move, The Idle Race, 'Brum Beat', The Beatles and related artistes.

Until next "Time" in the ELO [and related] Universe ... KJS ... 02-June-2017

1 comment: